Butterbeer Cupcakes

A few months ago Shannon put up a post about cupcakes inspired by the butterbeer in Harry Potter.  I was intrigued, but didn’t know quite how I was going to manage to make them dairy-free since I have never seen butterscotch chips without cream in them.  The barn potluck is tonight so I thought I would give them a go.  Anything with that much sugar in it can’t be all bad even if I mess with it right?  After a bit of pondering I decided to go ahead and use Dreena Burton’s Easy Caramel Sauce as a substitute.  In the end I also couldn’t quite bring myself to buy the artificial butter flavoring.  For good measure I sprinkled some crushed up butterscotch candies to the top.  While I’m sure they don’t taste quite like the originals, they are teeth-itchingly sweet and I’m guessing Piper isn’t the only barn rat who has a fine appreciation for that kind of thing.  ;-)

Leave a Reply

