Florence

Today Lisa asked me to take on the blogging duties.

If countries had genders Italy would be female, without a shadow of a doubt. I don’t consider myself a world traveler but to quote They Might Be Giants: “There’s only one thing that I know how to do well; And I’ve often been told that you only can do; What you know how to do well” and one of the things I do well is navigate in cities. I know, strange for a guy who grew up in Northern Wisconsin to have that skill, but I do. Give me a decent map and I’m in business. Once I have been to a place I can usually always get back there, even if I come at it from a different approach – years as a performance engineer driving around in circles, in the dead of night, with little sleep, in a place you’ve rarely if ever been will do that. BUT NOT HERE!

There is something that absolutely befuddles me but somehow makes sense to Lisa. One of the things that I have always found interesting is how men and women navigate differently. Call it the hunter versus the gather or whatever, but I think most would agree that there are two types of navigators out there: those that go by a sense of direction and those who navigate by landmarks. Lisa is a landmark girl and she has been doing a lot better than me this trip.

Below are some pictures from around town:

20110429-223517.jpg
This guy was doing some amazing artwork with spray paint and newspaper. I imagine some of his other work can be found along the railroad tracks and on bridge overpasses.

20110429-223651.jpg

The horse people reading will like this. While the rest of the world was snapping shots of themselves before the Duomo Piper wanted a shot of herself in front of a carriage horse, much to the sly amusement and appreciation of the carriage driver.

20110429-223914.jpg

20110429-223941.jpg

Thumbs up on today’s gelato:

20110429-224054.jpg

And some famous naked guys hanging around town:

20110429-224234.jpg

20110429-224246.jpg

20110429-224302.jpg

Leave a Reply

