Mutant Vegetable

I freely admit our home garden is suffering from no end of neglect.  You see I joined the CSA after planting it.  After driving over, picking, and processing the copious amount of vegetables from our share I simply do not have the ambition nor the refrigerator space to deal with what is in our yard.  It seems things are growing despite this lack of care.  Note Exhibit A…

I let Tim and Piper pick the seeds out this year and have to admit I was a bit irritated when they informed me that the carrot they picked out while reputed to be very tasty was spindly and prone to breakage.  Hmmm…not so much.  This one clocked in at 1 foot and has a diameter of 1 3/4 inches.  I blame the drip irrigation.  🙂 Since I am already buried in carrots I’m thinking there are going to be some very happy ponies at the barn.

Leave a Reply

