WFK Workshop – Week 4

Mediterranean Butter Bean Salad – I think this one has potential, but the only butter beans I could find were an unsalted canned version.  It may just be my experience, but I’ve never met an unsalted canned bean that actually tastes good.  Not only is the salt missing, but it seems like all of the bean flavor is sucked out too.  Next time I will substitute cannelli beans which should be lovely with the sun-dried tomatoes, kalamatas and vinaigrette. Now if I can just convince Piper she likes sun-dried tomatoes!

Market Stew – This recipe was very similar to the Sausage, Kale, and Bean soup.  Since the family preferred that recipe I just put sautéed some Tofurkey sausage the next day and everyone was happy.

Lemon, Garlic, and White Bean Pasta – If you really liked lemon on your pasta I think this recipe would be a hit.  Since we are firmly in the tomato/olive oil/garlic camp I think I’ll stick with that since I already make a similar recipe with those ingredients especially since I normally view white pasta as a bit of a treat.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars – The initial reaction to these was lukewarm.  They definitely have the taste you tend to associate with “health” food.  This is the kind of snack that grows on you though and the pan gone in two days.  Seriously, there is chocolate involved, how bad could they be? 🙂

Leave a Reply

