WFK Workshop – Week 5

White Bean, Hazelnut, and Red Pepper Hummus – I’ve made this one twice now so I’d say it gets a thumbs up.  Similar to granola, you really can’t have enough hummus recipes.  No hazelnuts since I’m allergic so I used macadamias instead.  The first time was better because I remembered to adjust for the fact that a can of beans is closer to one and a half cups than two.  There are a lot of flavors going on here so it’s important to have the correct amount of beans in order to keep it from being overwhelming.

Brown Rice Salad with Lemon Cumin Vinaigrette –  Tim and I thought this was pretty good, particularly the second day after the flavors had a chance to meld.  I think it would be even better on the suggested wrap with black beans and avocado.

Tasty Rice and Beans – This was kind of a no brainer since we regularly eat rice and beans.  I typically use salsa, but really liked the tomato paste in this recipe.  Piper loves corn so I added that to make her happy.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Granola Bars – These used the previous granola recipe and some brown rice krispie cereal.  As you can see I opted for golden raisins instead of chocolate chips.  I would be tempted to back off just a little on the coconut oil to see what happened since I thought it was just a tad high, but these were quite awesome.

One thought on “WFK Workshop – Week 5

  1. Hi! I’m a visitor for the cooking class. This is wonderful, thank you so much for posting, I have not cooked as many of the recipe’s as you have and it is very helpful to see your pics and hear your preferences and tweaks!

Leave a Reply

